Modern Vintage Defined.

Hi all! I’m back with another promised fashion interview! I wanted to introduce Holly W, a woman with impeccable taste. I had the honor of working with her at BCBG MAX AZRIA two years back and I’ve never seen this woman look shabby! Everyday is always a surprise. She’s worn different prints, textures, and bold jewelry pieces that caught my eye. Here’s some of her style secrets to share with you all!

(-Vintage maxi, flower clip for hair, perfect sunnys, and a braided bracelt, gold 70’s long clutch)

What does fashion mean to you?

Fashion is a sense of self- it’s about what makes you happy.  I believe that current trends are just one part of what makes someone stylish.   Other parts for me include: fit, color, texture, pattern, and personal perspective.  Having a unique perspective on dressing yourself is fashion.

Your fashion senses are spot on, is there any particular person you look up to?

I have always looked up to my grandmother for a sense of style; she never leaves the house not dressed for her day.  I also pull a lot of ideas from what I see other people wearing; I love new and fresh style!

I too draw inspiration from others! There’s just so much incredible taste out there. Can describe your own personal style? How does it differ from others?

What makes me different is my ability to put together what I wear.  I believe in accessories as the simplest way to change a simple outfit into a completed look.  I love vintage, but vintage as current wearable clothing not cliché past style.

It’s definitely important to be confident, after all we do know ourselves best! Now if you had to choose, heels or wedges?

Heels.

(-Black cashmere sweater dress, tweed 60’s fox cuffed swing jacket, gold tassel necklace, black ruffle clutch)

Are there any trends you love from this season?

I love the new shapes in outwear, print, fur, and bold color.

Is there a trend that you feel should NEVER come back?

Several, the jegging, women’s overalls, acid wash, plastic jackets, t-shirts with catchy phrases about boyfriends, and the fanny pack.
There’s so much talent out in the fashion industry, who do you think is the next hot designer?

I would say Suno and Cushnie Et Ochs.

What are some top pieces that every woman should have in their closet?

A bold jacket (color, print, texture), black button up sweater, tailored suit, cocktail ring, and black leather clutch.

 How about your ideal date night outfit?

A simple dress, nothing strapless or too tight, mid height heels, tailored jacket, and lots of jewelry!

What’s one style advice you would give to anyone?

1-      Never wear something just because its “in style”. Wear something because you LOVE it.

2-      Over accessorize, you can always take something off.

3-      Don’t hang onto anything that has bad memories, ill fit, or general regret. Donate it and put it back into the universe for something else to have a “love” moment.
(Black rabbit oversized sweater, pleated knit teal skirt, knee high wooden/suede boots, gold and silver tassel earrings, houndstooth wool scarf)

Wasn’t that lovely? Thanks to Holly W. for taking your time to share your styling tips and photos.

Photo Credit: All photos provided by Holly W.

Leave a Reply

