Beauty Tips | Achieving Hair Volume

How many of you out there HATE flat droopy hair? Well, I do! Here a few of my tricks on how to achieve hair volume all day.

I have pretty thick hair (which I’m thankful for) but let me tell you, it isn’t easy to manage. My hair cooperates and stays well maintained in warmer/humid temperature however during the cold/windy days, not so much.

I’ve tried so many different shampoos and products but here are a few of my current top faves.

STEP 1: SHAMPOO & CONDITIONER

I love using Dove’s Daily Moisture Shampoo (Find here), it has a nice scent and keeps my hair soft and moisturized. After experimenting with many different conditioners, I noticed that TRESemme’s 24 Hour Body conditioner (Find here) worked extremely well with the Dove Shampoo. You can definitely feel the “body” in your hair, whereas many conditioners has made my hair extremely flat.

US_DVH_12oz_SH_DailyMoisture_86660_243x40671-39010013399515

(Photo Credit: Dove & TRESemme) 

STEP 2: ORIBE VOLUMISTA 

IMG_7081

(Find here)

My fantastic hair stylist recommended this product to me and I’ve been using it every time I wash my hair. This product works best while your hair is still wet. After drying my hair with a towel, I spray at my ends and roots. This product is a bit sticky, so I definitely recommend using before you blow-dry your hair or your hair will be clumpy.

STEP 3: BLOW-DRYING 

I flip my hair upside down and blow-dry my hair using a diffuser attachment. This gives volume while protecting your hair from direct heat.

IMG_7082

While blow-drying, I gently run my fingers through my hair to get it dried evenly. You can even use a flat paddle brush if you like. Another tip is to blow-dry against the grain to create additional volume.

STEP 4: CHI SILK INFUSION

IMG_7080

(Find here)

I LOVE CHI ❤  I’ve been using it for almost ten years! It keeps your hair soft and also strengthens it. It also smells AMAZING. After blow-drying, I pour a quarter-size amount into my palms, rubbing them together and gently using my fingers to comb the product into my hair.

STEP 5: FLAT IRON

I separate all my hair evenly with clips to prep for styling. I take sections of my hair, run the iron through and angle in towards my face. This gives me additional volume and shape. This step is totally optional!

STEP 6: ORIBE DRY TEXTURIZING SPRAY

IMG_7079

(Find here)

This is another product recommended by my stylist and I’ve probably went through 4 bottles already!  They run about $45 a pop, but it’s fantastic. I’m completely in love and addicted! I flip my hair upside down and evenly spray all over. Then I spray in the areas near my part and any other areas that need additional volume.

If you like to wash your hair at night, which I sometimes do, just follow steps 1-3 and flip your hair up when you sleep. Don’t sleep on your hair! Continue with steps 4-6 in the morning and you will have more body and volume!

❤ Ren

Leave a Reply

